So for the first 2.5 mths i have been trying to freeform. May hair has come down at the roots from all the washing. Only the parts that stayed seem to be locking or at least staying together. Those are the 2 strand twist that did come down all the way. So i decided to retwist my roots so the loose parts would loc. Then i plan to go back to freeforming or i may semi-freeform. Either way in the end i will still have dreadlocs. I basically had to do what was best for my hair at this point. I don't feel that with my hair texture i can wash as often as others. My plan right now is to see how well this new twist stays together and not wash my hair but every 2 wks. When i had loose natural i only washed every 2 to 3wks.
I don't use a lot of products in my hair and i think i need a little oldness for my hair type to loc. My hair is really curly and thin, so all that washng every other day was just too much. I will see over the next couple of months how my experiment is going. I will do an update when i hit 4 months.
9/25/2011
So its been 3 month since i started this journey. So far its been going well, i really need to just stop messing with my and let it be. I decided to latch my hair, and i have to say i really didn' like how it looked or felt. More power to all those who do latch its just not for me. So now i'm back to freeforming. Can i please make up my mind on what i am going to do :-) I have noteiced that my ends are closing up and the bottom back rows feel more like locs. With my texture of hair i really didn't expect to see this change until around 2 yrs. I have a softer texture of hair 3a, 3b with a section of 3c in the crown in the back. i think maybe its because i don't put products in my hair. I pretty much wash once a week with Sauve and i spray water in my hair every morning. i only use oil once every two weeks. i think too much oil is the reason some hair types don't fully loc until 2yrs...i could be wrong but thats my opinon. well i will have another update around 4mth.